Country Pound Cake

I found some beautiful strawberries recently at the grocery store, which of course made me think of strawberry shortcake with whipped cream. I prefer pound cake to shortcake for that desert so I began to search for a great pound cake recipe. I discovered that my cookbooks didn’t have a pound cake recipe, so I began to look online at my favorite recipe site www.allrecipes.com.  That is where I found this recipe. It had great reviews so I had to try it.  It is delicious and makes a great Memorial Day dessert if you put strawberries, blueberries, and whipped cream on it.

Country Pound Cake

Ingredients:

3 c. flour
3/4 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1 c. unsalted butter softened
1/2 c. shortening
2 2/3 c. sugar
5 eggs
1 c. milk
2 t. vanilla

 

1. Do not preheat oven. Grease/flour 10 inch tube pan or bread pan. (Baker’s Joy is a grease/flour spray that works great. I have tried other flour/grease sprays, but haven’t been as happy as with Baker’s Joy)

2. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat the butter, shortening, and sugar on low speed for 10 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time blending well after each additions. Alternately add the flour mixture and milk, mixing well. Add vanilla

4. Pour batter into prepared pan. Set the oven temperature to 350 degrees F. Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow cake to cool in the pan for 1 hour. Remove to a cooking rack and cool for at least 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

