BBQ Pulled Pork

Summer is the time that my thoughts turn to barbecue. But with the current temperatures of over 100 degrees, it doesn’t make it a pleasant experience to cook the meat. So, I started to look for pulled pork recipes that could be prepared inside but taste like great barbecue. I found this recipe online, and it had great reviews, which was good considering what one of the ingredients was. Also it was a slow-cooker recipe as well, so I could prep it in the morning and come home to a great dinner.  I tweaked it a little to give it more spice, so if you like mild flavor forget the spice. When I put the pulled pork on the bun and ate it, I finally had my barbecue without being in the sweltering heat. This recipe gives a mild sweet taste to the pork, so I used a strong spicy barbecue sauce with it to add depth of flavor.

BBQ Pulled Pork

Ingredients:

  • Pork Tenderloin
  • Italian spice mix
  • 1 liter of root beer (I used A&W)
  • Favorite BBQ sauce

Directions:

  1. Cut most of the fat layer off of the pork tenderloin and cut into 2 or 3 pieces to fit into the crock pot
  2. Place pieces of pork into crock pot fat side up.
  3. Pour root beer over pork until it almost covers it.
  4. Sprinkle the Italian spice over pieces
  5. Cook on high for 6 – 7 hours until pork tears easily with a fork
  6. Drain root beer
  7. Tear pork with forks until shredded.
  8. Mix barbecue sauce in.
  9. Serve on buns and enjoy. (I like to put a little more sauce on top pork on the bun.
Leave a Reply

